← Articles
Read in another language
Health

Personalized mRNA Cancer Vaccines: What the Evidence Says

Jayden

Analyzes global supply chains, industrial policy, and technology issues.

Published

Key points

  • No personalized cancer vaccine has been approved anywhere. Every result below comes from a therapy still under investigation, given after surgery alongside a checkpoint inhibitor — therapeutic, not preventive, and not gene editing [source: ScienceDirect review, 2026; Merck, 2026].
  • The melanoma trial KEYNOTE-942 randomized 157 patients with resected high-risk disease. At five years the vaccine plus KEYTRUDA cut the risk of recurrence or death by 49% (hazard ratio 0.51) and the risk of distant metastasis or death by 59% (hazard ratio 0.411) versus KEYTRUDA alone; the earlier primary read was 44% (hazard ratio 0.56) [source: Merck, 2026; The Lancet, 2024].
  • Overall survival was not established. That analysis was exploratory and immature, based on only 14 deaths, and the positive trend was not statistically significant [source: Merck, 2026].
  • In pancreatic cancer, a single-arm phase 1 study of 16 patients produced vaccine-induced T-cell responses in 8, and those 8 responders had longer recurrence-free survival than the 8 non-responders, whose cancer returned at a median of about 13 months (P = 0.007); seven of the eight responders were alive four to six years later. This is a correlation inside a non-randomized trial, not proof of cause [source: Nature, 2023; Nature, 2025; BioNTech, 2026].
  • Confirmation is still ahead. The phase 3 melanoma trial INTerpath-001 enrolls roughly 1,089 patients and has finished recruiting but has not read out, the resected-lung-cancer phase 3 is not expected to report until 2035, and per-patient manufacturing of about four to seven weeks remains the scaling barrier [source: Merck, 2023; PMC review, 2024; ScienceDirect review, 2026].

For a decade, "cancer vaccine" was mostly a phrase in press releases. In 2026 it started to look like data. At the ASCO annual meeting in May, Moderna and Merck reported five-year results for a personalized mRNA vaccine in high-risk melanoma: added to the immunotherapy KEYTRUDA, it cut the risk of recurrence or death by 49% compared with KEYTRUDA alone [source: Merck, 2026]. Weeks earlier, BioNTech reported that in a small pancreatic-cancer study, seven of eight patients whose immune systems responded to a personalized vaccine were still alive four to six years after treatment [source: BioNTech, 2026]. Those are striking numbers for two of the hardest cancers to treat.

They are also easy to misread. So this article asks a narrower, checkable question: what has actually been shown, and what has not? The short version is that the early results are genuinely encouraging, that they come mostly from mid-size or small trials rather than the large confirmatory ones, and that — despite the headlines — no personalized cancer vaccine has been approved anywhere. Everything below is a therapy still under investigation.

Two things these vaccines are not

Before the results, two clarifications, because both confusions are common.

First, these are not preventive vaccines. The shots most people picture — HPV or hepatitis B — stop a virus that can later cause cancer, and you get them while healthy. The vaccines in this article are therapeutic: they are given to people who already have cancer, usually after surgery has removed the visible tumor, to train the immune system against any cancer cells left behind. In the trials, they are almost always paired with an immune checkpoint inhibitor, not given alone [source: Merck, 2026].

Second, this is not gene editing. A personalized cancer vaccine does not rewrite the patient's DNA. It works more like a wanted poster. As a tumor grows it accumulates mutations, and some of those mutations produce abnormal proteins — called neoantigens — that healthy cells never make [source: PMC review, 2024]. The vaccine shows the immune system pieces of those neoantigens so that T cells learn to hunt down cells carrying them. The mRNA is the delivery format, the same technology behind the COVID-19 shots, repurposed to carry a tumor's mutation signature instead of a virus's.

Why every vaccine is different

The word "personalized" is doing real work here. Because each tumor's mutations are unique, each vaccine is manufactured for one patient and no one else.

The workflow is roughly this. Surgeons remove the tumor; the tissue and a blood sample are sequenced to catalog the tumor's mutations; software predicts which of those mutations are most likely to be visible to that person's immune system; the top candidates are encoded into a bespoke mRNA vaccine and manufactured [source: PMC review, 2024]. Moderna's melanoma vaccine encodes up to 34 neoantigens per patient [source: Merck, 2026]. Start to finish, current workflows take roughly four to seven weeks from surgery to the first dose [source: PMC review, 2024].

That individualized production is also the field's central practical problem. A pill can be mass-produced; a per-patient vaccine cannot. Turnaround time, batch-to-batch variability, cost, and the regulatory question of how you approve a product that is different for every recipient are the obstacles most often named between promising trial data and routine use [source: ScienceDirect review, 2026]. The science of whether it works and the logistics of whether it can scale are separate questions, and both are unsettled.

The melanoma results: what the numbers say

The most mature evidence is in melanoma, from a trial called KEYNOTE-942. It enrolled 157 patients whose high-risk (stage III/IV) melanoma had been surgically removed, and randomly assigned them to Moderna's vaccine plus KEYTRUDA (pembrolizumab) or to KEYTRUDA alone [source: Merck, 2026]. When the primary results first read out, the combination reduced the risk of recurrence or death by 44% versus KEYTRUDA alone (hazard ratio 0.56), meeting the trial's main goal [source: The Lancet, 2024].

At five years, that benefit held up. With a median follow-up of about 60 months, the combination reduced the risk of recurrence or death by 49% (hazard ratio 0.51) and the risk of distant metastasis or death by 59% (hazard ratio 0.411) [source: Merck, 2026]. Those are durable, meaningful effect sizes.

But read the fine print, because it matters. Overall survival — whether patients actually live longer — was not established. That analysis was exploratory and immature, based on only 14 deaths, and the trend, while positive, was not statistically significant [source: Merck, 2026]. Recurrence-free survival is an important endpoint, but it is not the same as proof that the vaccine helps people live longer; that question is still open.

Two more layers of caution. KEYNOTE-942 is a phase 2b trial — mid-size, and designed to justify a bigger one, not to be the final word. The confirmatory phase 3 trial, INTerpath-001, enrolls roughly 1,089 patients and has finished recruiting, but its results are not yet in [source: Merck, 2023]. And these figures come from the companies developing the product — a legitimate reason for scrutiny — though the data have been published in peer-reviewed journals including The Lancet and presented at ASCO, which is a real point in their favor [source: The Lancet, 2024]. On the strength of the early data, the vaccine received the FDA's Breakthrough Therapy Designation in 2023 and the EMA's PRIME designation the same year [source: Merck, 2023]. Those are accelerated-review labels. Neither is an approval.

The pancreatic story: smaller, earlier, promising

The second headline comes from pancreatic cancer, which is far deadlier and where any signal is notable. Here the vaccine is BioNTech's autogene cevumeran, tested in a phase 1 trial of just 16 patients run at Memorial Sloan Kettering, combined with the checkpoint drug atezolizumab and standard chemotherapy [source: Nature, 2023].

The immunological result was clear: 8 of the 16 patients developed strong, vaccine-induced T-cell responses against their tumor's neoantigens [source: Nature, 2023]. On extended follow-up, those 8 responders had substantially longer recurrence-free survival than the 8 non-responders, whose cancer came back at a median of about 13 months (a difference reported as statistically significant, P = 0.007) [source: Nature, 2025]. At the latest update in 2026, seven of the eight responders were still alive four to six years out — remarkable in a disease where most patients do not survive that long [source: BioNTech, 2026].

The caveats here are even larger than in melanoma, and honesty requires stating them plainly. This is 16 people in a single-arm phase 1 study — a signal to chase, not a settled fact. More subtly, the responder-versus-non-responder comparison is a correlation, not proof of cause. Patients whose immune systems mounted a response may simply have had biologically different tumors — more immunogenic, and perhaps destined for a better outcome regardless of the shot. Only a randomized trial can separate "the vaccine caused the benefit" from "the patients who did well were always going to." That randomized phase 2 trial, run with Genentech, is underway, with data expected in 2026 [source: BioNTech, 2026].

Still investigational — and why that word matters

Step back from the two headline programs and the picture is consistent. The field is broad but early: as of a recent survey, the large majority of personalized neoantigen vaccine trials were still in phase 1, and no such vaccine has reached full regulatory approval [source: ScienceDirect review, 2026]. Moderna and Merck are running phase 3 trials not only in melanoma but in resected non-small-cell lung cancer, with kidney and bladder cancer studies behind them — and the lung trial's results are not expected until 2035 [source: Merck, 2023].

The deeper challenge is one reviewers of the field keep returning to: there is a persistent gap between a vaccine provoking an immune response and that response translating into consistent, durable clinical benefit [source: Cancer Cell, 2026]. A vaccine can reliably wake up T cells and still fail to change how long people live, because a tumor's surroundings can suppress those T cells, because the predicted neoantigens may not be the right targets, and because the weeks of manufacturing give an aggressive cancer time to evolve [source: ScienceDirect review, 2026]. Immunogenicity is necessary but not sufficient. That is exactly why the immature overall-survival data in melanoma, and the correlational design in pancreatic cancer, are not pedantic footnotes — they are the crux.

What to watch

Three signals will show whether 2026's optimism becomes standard care. First, the phase 3 readouts: INTerpath-001 in melanoma is fully enrolled, and it — not the phase 2b — is the trial that can confirm or deflate the effect, ideally with mature overall-survival data [source: Merck, 2023]. Second, the pancreatic randomized trial: if BioNTech's phase 2 reproduces the phase 1 signal under proper randomization, a correlation becomes something much closer to cause [source: BioNTech, 2026]. Third, manufacturing and access: even a clearly effective vaccine has to be built per patient in weeks, at a cost and reliability that a health system can absorb, and that logistical story will decide whether the therapy reaches beyond top research centers [source: ScienceDirect review, 2026].

The balanced read is neither "cancer is cured" nor "it is hype." What the measured evidence supports is more specific: personalized mRNA vaccines have produced durable reductions in recurrence in mid-size and small trials of melanoma and pancreatic cancer, always alongside other drugs, with real effect sizes and real limits — unproven survival benefit, unfinished confirmatory trials, and an unsolved scaling problem. That is a genuinely hopeful place to be. It is not the same as a finished one. Read the evidence, not the headline.

Charts

How many patients each trial actually enrolled

How many patients each trial actually enrolledPancreatic, phase 1 (single-arm) 16, Melanoma, phase 2b (randomized) 157, Melanoma, phase 3 (no results yet) 1,08916Pancreatic, phase 1 (single-arm)157Melanoma, phase 2b (randomized)1,089Melanoma, phase 3 (no results yet)
Bars are enrolled participant counts, not results. 16 = the single-arm pancreatic phase 1 run at Memorial Sloan Kettering [Nature, 2023]; 157 = the randomized melanoma phase 2b KEYNOTE-942, the source of the 49% and 59% figures [Merck, 2026]; roughly 1,089 = the confirmatory phase 3 INTerpath-001, which has finished recruiting but whose results are not yet in [Merck, 2023]. The phase 3 figure is reported as 'roughly' 1,089 and is an enrollment number, not an outcome. No single source link is attached because the counts come from two different sponsors and publications; each is cited separately in the sources list.

Timeline

  1. The FDA grants mRNA-4157/V940 plus KEYTRUDA Breakthrough Therapy Designation for adjuvant treatment of high-risk melanoma — an accelerated-review label, not an approval.

    Merck (opens in a new tab)
  2. The European Medicines Agency grants the same candidate PRIME designation. Like the FDA label, this is a priority-review pathway rather than a marketing authorization.

  3. Nature publishes the Memorial Sloan Kettering pancreatic phase 1: 16 patients receive autogene cevumeran with atezolizumab and chemotherapy, and 8 develop vaccine-induced neoantigen-specific T-cell responses.

    Nature (Rojas et al.) (opens in a new tab)
  4. Merck and Moderna start the confirmatory phase 3 INTerpath-001 in resected high-risk (stage IIB-IV) melanoma, enrolling roughly 1,089 patients with recurrence-free survival as the primary endpoint.

    Merck (opens in a new tab)
  5. They also start INTerpath-002, a phase 3 study in resected non-small-cell lung cancer with about 868 patients.

    Merck (opens in a new tab)
  6. A Genentech-sponsored randomized phase 2 opens in resected pancreatic cancer, comparing adjuvant autogene cevumeran plus atezolizumab and chemotherapy against standard chemotherapy — the trial designed to test the phase 1 signal under randomization.

    BioNTech (opens in a new tab)
  7. The Lancet publishes the KEYNOTE-942 primary results: the combination reduces the risk of recurrence or death by 44% versus KEYTRUDA alone (hazard ratio 0.56; 95% CI 0.31-1.08), meeting the trial's main goal.

    The Lancet (Weber et al.) (opens in a new tab)
  8. Extended follow-up of the pancreatic phase 1 (median 3.2 years) reports that the 8 responders had significantly longer recurrence-free survival than the 8 non-responders, whose median was 13.4 months (P = 0.007), with long-lived functional CD8+ T cells persisting.

    Nature (Sethna et al.) (opens in a new tab)
  9. The program widens beyond melanoma and lung: INTerpath-004 in renal cell carcinoma (phase 2) is presented at ASCO GU, with INTerpath-005 in muscle-invasive bladder cancer at phase 1/2.

    UroToday / ASCO GU (opens in a new tab)
  10. At the ASCO annual meeting, Moderna and Merck present five-year KEYNOTE-942 data at a median follow-up of about 60 months: recurrence or death down 49% (hazard ratio 0.51) and distant metastasis or death down 59% (hazard ratio 0.411), with overall survival still exploratory and immature on 14 events.

    Merck (opens in a new tab)
  11. BioNTech reports that seven of the eight pancreatic responders were still alive four to six years after treatment, and that the randomized phase 2 data are expected during the year.

    BioNTech (opens in a new tab)
  12. Results from the resected non-small-cell lung cancer phase 3 are expected — a reminder that confirmation in a second tumor type is a decade-scale project.

    Merck (opens in a new tab)

Analysis

'Investigational' is the whole story, not a technicality

No personalized neoantigen vaccine has reached full regulatory approval anywhere [source: ScienceDirect review, 2026]. The FDA's Breakthrough Therapy Designation and the EMA's PRIME label, both granted in 2023, speed up review; they do not conclude it [source: Merck, 2023].

Recurrence-free survival is not survival

The headline 49% and 59% describe recurrence and distant metastasis, not living longer. The overall-survival analysis rested on 14 deaths, was called exploratory and immature, and was not statistically significant [source: Merck, 2026]. That gap is the single most misread part of the story.

A phase 2b is built to justify the next trial, not to end the argument

KEYNOTE-942 randomized 157 patients [source: Merck, 2026]. The trial designed to confirm or deflate the effect, INTerpath-001, enrolls roughly 1,089 and has not reported [source: Merck, 2023]. The seven-fold difference in scale is why the phase 2b cannot be the last word.

The pancreatic comparison is a correlation, and it is not a small caveat

Responders were not randomly assigned to respond. Patients whose immune systems mounted a response may have had more immunogenic tumors that were headed for better outcomes anyway [source: Nature, 2025]. Only the randomized phase 2 can separate the vaccine's effect from the patients' underlying biology [source: BioNTech, 2026].

Company-reported, but peer-reviewed

The strongest numbers come from the companies developing the product, which is a legitimate reason for scrutiny. The mitigating fact is that they were published in The Lancet and Nature and presented at ASCO rather than living only in press releases [source: The Lancet, 2024; Nature, 2023].

Waking up T cells is necessary and not sufficient

Reviewers of the field keep returning to a persistent gap between immunogenicity and durable clinical benefit [source: Cancer Cell, 2026]. A tumor's surroundings can suppress the primed T cells, and the predicted neoantigens may not be the right targets [source: ScienceDirect review, 2026].

Manufacturing time is a clinical variable, not just logistics

Current workflows take roughly four to seven weeks from surgery to first dose [source: PMC review, 2024]. Those weeks give an aggressive cancer time to evolve, which makes turnaround a question about efficacy and not only about cost [source: ScienceDirect review, 2026].

The vaccine is never tested alone

In these trials the vaccine is added to a checkpoint inhibitor — KEYTRUDA in melanoma, atezolizumab plus chemotherapy in pancreatic cancer [source: Merck, 2026; Nature, 2023]. Every effect size therefore belongs to a combination, not to the vaccine standing by itself.

Comparison

Evidence tiers: what kind of claim each number actually is
Figure or claimEvidence tierSource
49% lower risk of recurrence or death (hazard ratio 0.51) at five yearsRandomized phase 2b, 157 patients; company-sponsored but presented at ASCOMerck, 2026
59% lower risk of distant metastasis or death (hazard ratio 0.411)Same trial, same five-year read; a different endpoint from recurrence-free survivalMerck, 2026
44% lower risk of recurrence or death (hazard ratio 0.56; 95% CI 0.31-1.08)Primary read of the same trial, published in a peer-reviewed journal; the confidence interval crosses 1The Lancet, 2024
Overall survival benefitExploratory and immature: 14 deaths, positive trend, not statistically significant. Not establishedMerck, 2026
8 of 16 patients developed vaccine-induced T-cell responsesImmunological endpoint in a single-arm phase 1; measures immune response, not outcomeNature, 2023
Responders outlived non-responders (median about 13 months, P = 0.007)Observed correlation within a non-randomized trial; cause not establishedNature, 2025
Seven of eight responders alive at four to six yearsSmall-sample follow-up reported in a company release; 8 patients, no control armBioNTech, 2026
Roughly 1,089 patients in INTerpath-001Enrollment figure only. Recruitment finished, results not reportedMerck, 2023
No approved personalized neoantigen vaccine anywhereRegulatory status, confirmed by an independent review of the fieldScienceDirect review, 2026
The two lead programs side by side
MelanomaPancreatic cancer
Vaccine and developersmRNA-4157 / V940 (intismeran autogene), Moderna with MerckAutogene cevumeran (BNT122), BioNTech with Genentech
Trial and phaseKEYNOTE-942, randomized phase 2b, in resected stage III/IV diseasePhase 1, single-arm, run at Memorial Sloan Kettering
Patients15716
Given withKEYTRUDA (pembrolizumab)Atezolizumab plus mFOLFIRINOX chemotherapy
Headline resultRecurrence or death down 49%; distant metastasis or death down 59%, at five years8 of 16 developed T-cell responses; seven of those eight alive at four to six years
Confirmation statusPhase 3 INTerpath-001 fully enrolled, results not yet inRandomized phase 2 underway with Genentech, data expected in 2026
The headline versus what was measured
Common readingWhat the evidence showsWhere the two part ways
A cancer vaccine worksAdding the vaccine to KEYTRUDA cut recurrence or death by 49% in a 157-patient phase 2bNot survival, not phase 3, and never the vaccine alone [Merck, 2026]
Breakthrough therapy means it is approvedThe FDA and EMA granted accelerated-review designations in 2023Designations speed review; no approval exists anywhere [Merck, 2023; ScienceDirect review, 2026]
Seven of eight patients survived four to six yearsSeven of the eight immune responders in a 16-patient single-arm trial were alive at that pointThere was no randomized comparison group, so the result is a correlation [Nature, 2025; BioNTech, 2026]
mRNA rewrites the tumor's DNAThe mRNA encodes neoantigens so that T cells learn to hunt cells carrying themThis is immunotherapy, not gene editing; the patient's DNA is untouched [PMC review, 2024]

Process

  1. Remove the tumor

    Surgery takes out the visible disease. The vaccine targets what may be left behind, which is why these are adjuvant, post-surgical trials [source: Merck, 2026].

  2. Sequence tumor and blood

    The resected tissue and a blood sample are sequenced to catalog the mutations that the tumor has accumulated and the healthy cells have not [source: PMC review, 2024].

  3. Predict the neoantigens

    Software ranks which mutated proteins are most likely to be visible to that specific patient's immune system, using HLA-binding prediction [source: PMC review, 2024].

  4. Encode and manufacture

    The top candidates are encoded into a bespoke mRNA vaccine and manufactured under quality control — up to 34 neoantigens per patient in the melanoma program. Surgery to first dose takes roughly four to seven weeks [source: Merck, 2026; PMC review, 2024].

  5. Dose alongside a checkpoint inhibitor

    In the melanoma trial the vaccine is given intramuscularly every three weeks for up to nine doses, together with KEYTRUDA; it is not tested on its own [source: Merck, 2026].

  6. Follow the endpoints

    Recurrence-free survival reads out first, distant-metastasis-free survival next, and overall survival last — which is why the survival question is still open five years in [source: Merck, 2026].

Sources

  1. Merck — Moderna and Merck Present 5-Year Data for Intismeran Autogene in Combination With KEYTRUDA in High-Risk Stage III/IV Melanoma at the 2026 ASCO Annual Meeting (2026).View source (opens in a new tab)
  2. The Lancet (Weber et al.) — Individualised neoantigen therapy mRNA-4157 (V940) plus pembrolizumab versus pembrolizumab monotherapy in resected melanoma (KEYNOTE-942): a randomised, phase 2b study (2024).View source (opens in a new tab)
  3. Merck — mRNA-4157/V940 plus KEYTRUDA Granted Breakthrough Therapy Designation by the FDA for Adjuvant Treatment of High-Risk Melanoma (2023).View source (opens in a new tab)
  4. Merck — Initiate Phase 3 Study (INTerpath-001) of V940 (mRNA-4157) plus KEYTRUDA in Resected High-Risk (Stage IIB–IV) Melanoma (2023).View source (opens in a new tab)
  5. Merck — Initiate INTerpath-002, Phase 3 Study of V940 plus KEYTRUDA in Resected Non-Small Cell Lung Cancer (2023).View source (opens in a new tab)
  6. Nature (Rojas et al.) — Personalized RNA neoantigen vaccines stimulate T cells in pancreatic cancer (2023).View source (opens in a new tab)
  7. Nature (Sethna et al.) — RNA neoantigen vaccines prime long-lived CD8+ T cells in pancreatic cancer (2025).View source (opens in a new tab)
  8. BioNTech — Phase 1 Follow-Up Data Show Persistence of Immune Response and Delayed Tumor Recurrence in Resected Pancreatic Cancer; Late-Stage Portfolio Update (2026).View source (opens in a new tab)
  9. Memorial Sloan Kettering Cancer Center — Investigational Pancreatic Cancer Vaccine Shows Lasting Results in Early Trial (2025).View source (opens in a new tab)
  10. ScienceDirect (review) — Personalized neoantigen cancer vaccines: Why clinical benefit remains inconsistent (2026).View source (opens in a new tab)
  11. Cell / Cancer Cell — Bridging clinical gaps in personalized cancer neoantigen vaccines (2026).View source (opens in a new tab)
  12. PMC (review) — Personalized neoantigen cancer vaccines: current progression, challenges and a bright future (2024).View source (opens in a new tab)

Tags

  • #cancer-vaccine
  • #mrna
  • #neoantigen
  • #immunotherapy
  • #personalized-medicine
  • #melanoma
Personalized mRNA Cancer Vaccines: What the Evidence Says | 114 Info